

ELECTION OF MAYOR

OF

THE VALE OF GLAMORGAN COUNCIL

via

Hybrid Meeting

at

6.05 p.m. on Wednesday 7th May, 2025



ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS

The retiring Mayor will take the Chair and take Agenda Items 1 and 2.

AGENDA ITEM 3 - ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

The Chief Executive will ask for nominations for the Office of Mayor of the Vale of Glamorgan Council for the year 2025/26.

The nomination will be proposed and seconded. The proposal being carried -

The Chief Executive will ask the Mayor to read and sign the following Declaration of Acceptance of Office:

"I,having been elected to the Office of Mayor of the Vale of Glamorgan Council declare that I take that office upon myself, and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties of it according to the best of my judgement and aility.

I undertake to observe the Code for the time being as to the conduct which is expected of Members of the Vale of Glamorgan Council and which may be revised from time to time."

The Mayor and Consort will be invested with the Chain of Office.

AGENDA ITEM 4 - ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor will ask for nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor of the Vale of Glamorgan Council for the year 2025/26.

The nomination will be proposed and seconded.

The proposal being carried, the Mayor will declare that the Deputy Mayor has been duly elected for the year 2025/26.

The Chief Executive will ask the Deputy Mayor to read and sign the following Declaration of Acceptance of Office::

"I,, having been elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor of the Vale of Glamorgan Council declare that I take that office upon myself, and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties of it according to the best of my judgement and ability.

I undertake to observe the Code for the time being as to the conduct which is expected of Members of the Vale of Glamorgan Council and which may be revised from time to time."

The Deputy Mayor and Consort will be invested with the Chain of Office.

VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR COUNCILLOR ELLIOT PENN—The Mayor will propose a Vote of Thanks to the retiring Mayor.

The Mayor will present the retiring Mayor with a Commemorative Badge and Album. The Mayor will also present the retiring Mayor's Consort with a gift.

The retiring Mayor will respond.

PAST CHAIRS

1995 – 1996 Councillor Neil Moore — Chairman of the Shadow Authority 1996 – 1997

Councillor Neil Brown, M.Sc., Grad. IPD

1997 – 1998 Councillor Fred Johnson, JP

1998 – 1999 Councillor John Baty, B.Sc., Ph.D

1999 – 2000 Councillor T Hunter Jarvie Ll.B(Hons)

2000 - 2001 Councillor Anthony M Ernest MTS, MRSGB

2001 – 2002 Councillor Maurice Nugent

2002 - 2003 Councillor Harold Rees ACII

2003 – 2004 Councillor Anthony G Powell

PAST MAYORS

2004 – 2005 Councillor Emlyn T Williams

2005 – 2006 Councillor Margaret Alexander

2006 – 2007 Councillor Nic Hodges

2007 – 2008 Councillor A Clive Williams MBE

2008 – 2009 Councillor Audrey Preston

2009 – 2010 Councillor Emlyn T Williams

2010 - 2011 Councillor Colin L Osborne LLB FCIS Cert Ed

2011 - 2012 Councillor John Clifford

2012 – 2013 Councillor Eric Hacker

2013 – 2014 Councillor Margaret Wilkinson

2014 – 2015 Councillor Howard Hamilton

2015 – 2016 Councillor Frederick Johnson

2016 – 2017 Councillor Stuart Egan

2017 - 2018 Councillor Janice Charles

2018 – 2019 Councillor Leighton Rowlands

2019 - 2020 Councillor Christine Cave

2020 – 2021 Councillor Jayne Norman

2021 – 2022 Councillor Jayne Norman

2022 - 2023 Councillor Susan Lloyd-Selby

2023 – 2024 Councillor Julie Aviet

2024 – 2025 Councillor Elliot Penn